Skip to content

Purple Pizza Palooza

October 12, 2010

Today began with a journey to the Apple Store and the AT&T store, where Grill boy joined me in the iPhone world (we now have a family plan, I think that makes us old). And sure enough just as I was obsessed with my iPhone when I first got her (her name is Penelope), Grill Boy is OBSESSED. He claims I do the same thing, but I won’t admit it, but while I drove and attempted to have a conversation, much like conversing with a wall there was no response. Instead he played and downloaded apps, like the level app (why have the tool when you have the app). I think I have created a monster, but at least its a family plan monster, and his phone no longer deserves a spot in the Smithsonian.

After our foray into the digital age, Grill Boy and I met up with some friends at Cityside in Brighton to watch the Falcons, aka Matt Ryan, trounce the Cleveland Browns. “Hi my name is Baker Girl, and I am a Matt Ryan-aholic.”

Having graduated from BC in 2009 I am like all BC graduates around my class year I have an enormous obsession with Matt Ryan, from leading the Eagles to a magical victory over VTech on October 25, 2007, to puking after that Victory, to becoming the third draft pick in 2008…no I don’t own two Matt Ryan figurines and have a Matt Ryan light switch, I don’t know what you are talking about. Luckily despite starting down, the Falcons came back to win 20-10, while we enjoyed some lovely Pumpkin Beer. Note to self and readers: Sam Adams Pumpkin Beer is raunchy, Shipyard Pumpkin Head is the only way to go.

After the game, we headed to pick up some groceries at Stop’n’Shop and Russo’s, the most magical grocery store in the world. You can get like a pound of basil for $2, its amazing! I will make sure to feature some future posts on the magic land that is Russo’s!

Pizza was on the menu tonight, with homemade dough. Only the second time making the pizza dough, but I came armed with yeast and my KitchenAid Mixer Dough Hook. In high school my family used to have pizza every Sunday night, and my dad and I would put food coloring in the dough to drive my mother crazy… tonight the tradition continues. Except Grill Boy consents to the coloring, last week was neon blue, but this week we went for purple. Sadly the color wasn’t as deep as we hoped but it still worked.

Pizza Dough

1 Packet Dry Active Yeast
1 1/3 Cup Warm Water
2 Tablespoons Sugar
2 Teaspoons Salt
3-4 Cups of Flour
2 Tablespoons Olive Oil

1. Start by dissolving the yeast in 1/3 cup of warm water, and allow it to sit for about 5 minutes.

2. In a bowl (KitchenAid Mixer Bowl if you have one) add 2 cups of flour, olive oil, salt, sugar, and additional 1 cup of warm water. * I like to add garlic powder and italian seasonings to give the dough some extra kick, about 2 teaspoons of each.

3. Add yeast water, and mix all ingredients together. I mix this in the KitchenAid Mixer with the dough hook, but you can also do it by hand, or with a bread machine I think.

4. Depending on the day, I add between 1 and 2 more cups of flour, and let the machine knead the dough into a firm ball for about 10 minutes. You can knead for 10 minutes by hand as well if you are machine-less.

5. Lightly grease a bowl, and put the dough ball in, cover with a damp towel and leave in a warm spot to rise for two hours. I just leave it on the counter or the kitchen table, since the heat from cooking in the kitchen provides a good warmth.

6. After two hours, take out the dough ball and split into as many pieces and you want pizzas, I usually do either 2 or 3. Lightly flour your counter (clean them first!) and roll out the dough to desired thickness.

7. Lightly grease your pans. I like to add corn meal to the pan too, and then put on rolled out pizzas.

8. After putting them on the pans, I like to leave them to rise a bit more for about 10 minutes and then it’s time to make pizza!

 

Toppings

On the menu tonight was:

Sauce
Mozzarella (an Italian Cheese Blend)Pepperoni
Olives
Onions
Peppers
Mushrooms

Here are the pizzas as we prepped them

Baker Girls Pizza

Grill Boy’s Pizza

Into the oven they go, for about 20 min at 400 degrees

Baked to perfection!

A successful pizza adventure, maybe green dough next time!

One Comment leave one →
  1. grillboy permalink*
    October 12, 2010 9:35 pm

    I love wings, and with a blog name like ‘grillboy’ AS I DAMN WELL SHOULD!! mmmm meat off the bone….delicious

    However, the wings at cityside were not bad but the classic example of not marinating the meat and just saucing them up after they had been cooked in the frialator (yes that is a word, in fact I used to work in the engineer dept of the #2 world produucer of frialators in high school, Pitco Frialator its a Maytag Company….or at least it was back in the day.)

    I had the buffalo wings and the sauce was mild with some spicy kick to them but not anything of note overall. They really are not wings of destination but if you happen to be at Cityside watching a game and have a hankering for wings they will suffice.

    The game was a excellent, actually I must say probably the best football I have seen so far this year……what the hell BC Eagles and NE Patriots!! – I missed last Monday’s game 😦

Leave a Reply

