Skip to content

Winner Winner Chicken Dinner

October 12, 2010

The infamous line of blackjack ‘Winner Winner Chicken Dinner.’  There are several etymological post on the Internets as to where this line came from, but frankly I can not tell you which are true, as I have never been to Vegas.  I have however, been watching the movie 21 for the past few nights….yes it takes us a few nights to watch a movie before we go to bed because bakergirl always falls asleep.

ANYWAYS……..Winner Winner Chicken Dinner is most certainly an appropriate title for the dinner we created tonight…CHICKEN VICTORY.

In all reality I had no help in preparing the meat for tonight’s dinner besides defrosting the chicken…strange I know.  Bakergirl did a fantastic job with the preparation.  I should ask her if she has a name for the dish…(I know she does because when we planned out the menu for the week she mentioned it several times but I was too busy playing with my new iPhone to pay attention).

Any who…. it was rather very simple (2) flattened chicken breasts with Swiss Cheese rolled up into it and then floured and breaded.

It was DELICIOUS, I am sure the cheese and wine sauce had something to do with it.

I provided the inspiration for the meal’s starch a lovely little mishmash of oven-fries / potato wedges.  I used garlic powder, salt, pepper and some basil/Parmesan oil sprinkled on top.  We then tossed them into the oven about 10 minutes before the chicken, because if you are unaware potatoes take a long damn time to cook.  We still did not get the timing down 100% and had to use the technology of Einstein and Oppenheimer to give them a quick zapparoo so that dinner could be enjoyed at the same time.  We also sprinkled the taters with grated Parmesan.

(The theme of the meal was how much cheese can once have in a single meal.  —– If any of you are looking for quantity amounts from ‘grillboy’ you really should set up a video-camera because I have no idea how much of anything I put in anything….I just do it until taste, feel and appearance.

‘Bakergirl’ also developed an amazing dish of carrots that contained mustard, butter and sugar….again a dish that will ever increase my cholesterol but yet wholly and amazingly satisfy my hunger, especially after a long day at work.

That was dinner and it was delicious …. 🙂 I send it over to ‘baker girl’ to comment and add pictures.

Baker Girl’s Contribution aka the Recipes:

Mozzarella Chicken in White Wine Garlic Sauce

Two Chicken Breasts Pounded Flat
1/2 Cup Flour
1/2 Cup Breadcrumbs
1 egg
2 Slices Mozzarella
2 Tablespoons Butter
1/2 Cup White Wine (any kind)
2-3 cloves of garlic (minced)

1. Pound Chicken Breasts so they are 1/4-1/2 inch thick.
2. Dredge in Flour to cover whole breast.
3. Add a slice of cheese to the breast and roll it up
4. Dip in egg wash.
5. Dredge in Bread Crumbs, and put in a bake safe dish.
6. In a small saucepan melt the butter while adding the minced garlic, once the butter has melted add the white wine and simmer for 1-2 minutes. Pour over the chicken.
7. Bake for 25-30 minutes at 350 degrees.

Glazed Carrots
2-3 Carrots, peeled and sliced
1 teaspoon mustard
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 tablespoon butter

1. Steam the carrots, either in a covered microwave safe dish or on the stove, usually about 10 min on the stove will do it.
2. Add butter, mustard, and brown sugar, mix, and voila, glazed carrots.
*As a child I only liked white foods (rice, potatoes, cucumbers, pasta, cheese) or those covered in sugar aka glazed carrots, my parents devised some clever ways to get me to eat veggies, and to this day I still enjoy ants on a log at least once a week!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

