Skip to content

Pie in a Bottle

October 13, 2010

While I found myself daydreaming about peppermint cream cheese brownies and candy cane cupcakes on the way home today, my attention quickly turned back to fall, and the most amazing flavor of the season, pumpkin. I have already mentioned I love Shipyard Pumpkinhead Beer, however tragedy has recently struck the bay state, and the supply of Pumpkin Beer is dwindling. Everyday on my drive home from work I pass the fine establishment that is D&L Liquors. A great spot for cheap but good wine (2 bottles for $12.99) and full of super friendly staff, who I think are slowly discovering my obsession with pumpkinhead beer. Last week however they ran out, but remembering back to AP Econ in high school, I figured, if I demand, they must supply. It goes something like that right? So everyday last week I stopped to see if they had gotten more in, finally on Thursday I had a conversation with my new D&L pal, let’s call him Chuck, about the ETA of some tasty gord filled brew. I stepped away much wiser, I now know beer is delivered Mondays and Thursdays, and for the past three weeks they have ordered 100 cases and received none. But saints be praised when I stopped to pick up some wine for Winner Winner Chicken Dinner on Monday and at last my demands were met with supply. Another conversation with my new BFF Chuck lead me to discover that only 10 cases were delivered, I have since purchased 3 of those cases. How they still have 7 left is beyond me, I was expected a full battle royal over the last of the 6 packs, but luckily the rest of society is more civilized than me when it comes to pumpkin beer. I live in fear of the end of pumpkin beer season. Mmmm especially when you make a cinnamon sugar rim on the glass aka Pie in a Bottle.

But I do digress, I had some leftover canned pumpkin from a muffin experiment on Sunday and so I made a twist on Pumpkin Whoopie Pies, I shall call them Pumpkin Whoopie Cookie, minus the ‘s’ for Cookies since then it does not rhyme. I made the standard Pumpkin Whoopie Pie Batter Recipe that I found on allrecipes.com:

  • 2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 cups solid pack pumpkin puree
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tablespoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 tablespoon ground cloves
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease baking sheets.
  2. Combine the oil and brown sugar. Mix in the pumpkin and eggs, beating well.
  3. Add the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, 1 teaspoon vanilla, cinnamon, ginger and cloves. Mix well.
  4. Drop dough by heaping teaspoons onto the prepared baking sheets. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 10 to 12 minutes.

I made them a little bigger than I normally do for whoopie pies, since I was going more for the cookie angle, and they turned out deliciously fluffy. 

For the frosting I made a standard confectioners frosting with butter, powdered sugar, vanilla extract and milk, and then added some cream cheese and some marshmallow fluff, I never measure when it comes to frosting, probably why I always end up using like 17 pounds of powdered sugar, but with butter, sugar and cream cheese where can you go wrong.

I let the whoopie cookie(s) cool for awhile and then drizzled the frosting on them.

I was afraid it wouldn’t harden up, but a few hours later they were deliciously glazed :). The next challenge is how to store them! But first several taste tests need to be performed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Corey - The Runner's Cookie permalink
    October 13, 2010 4:39 pm

    Ahh the whoopie pies you were telling me about! They look pretty epic. Glad you were successful in the pumpkin beer conquest 🙂 Way to make it happen, like Matt Ryan.

  2. Ann Houston Kelley permalink
    October 14, 2010 8:15 am

    Sounds incredibly delicious. Sorry that I have not had a chance to taste that pumpkin beer.

Leave a Reply

