Skip to content

Will Grill Boy Grill Again?

October 19, 2010

Not feeling overly motivated to create some spectacular dish tonight, I turned to an old favorite for solid recipes, the Fannie Farmer Cookbook. Little did I know before doing a little google search that Miss Farmer actually hails from Boston and the first edition of her cook book was actually called the Boston Cooking School Cook Book. Being a “native”/resident of the fine city of Boston, I am extra excited that I have been using this cook book since I was a wee one. Perhaps this makes me an even more legit Masshole, or at least we can pretend it does. The pizza dough recipe actually comes from Fannie, as well as the corn bread we made last night and I’m sure many other tasty dishes that will appear on these webpages.

I still remember the early edition of Fannie that we had when I was little. Chocolate cake batter on the page for Buttermilk Chocolate Cake (Best recipe ever, it has no eggs, so you can eat ALLLLLL the batter you want), flour ground into the seams and of course nibbles on the pages of all the most used recipes. When I was little we had a parakeet, who I creatively named Tweety, and no it was not after the Looney Toons Character, but rather because at the age of 5 my brain worked like this: birds, well birds tweet, so if I add a y that will make a nice name, the end. Thus Tweety the Parakeet was born, and we used to let him fly around the downstairs of our house. Often he would land on your shoulder, peck at your ear a bit, little love pecks I suppose, but he also used to land on our cook book stand and nibble at the cook books. So to this day if you want to know a good recipe in the Baker Girl family household, look for the pages with nibbles on them.

Wow so apparently this blog is about food and Baker Girl’s trips down memory lane, oops, hopefully anyone else reading besides my parents finds my childhood stories amusing.

Onto dinner, grilled chicken is on tap for tonight and as I have to go back to work later tonight, I came home a little early and prepped the dinner…the question remains, will Grill Boy be home by the time I want to eat chicken and grill it, or will Baker Girl become George Forman Girl? Yes I could grill, but I have only ever worked with gas grills and the amount of effort and time Grill Boy puts into the charcoal grill is just not in me tonight. But we shall see if Grill Boy Grills Again!

BBQ Chicken

2 Chicken Breasts, cut up however big you want them, I just cut the breasts in half.
1/2 cup Ketchup
1 Tablespoon Apple Cider Vinegar (we have a million vinegars, this was the easiest to grab, any kind would work, although I wouldn’t recommend balsamic for this sauce)
1 Teaspoon Ginger Paste (Ground Ginger powder would work too, this has more flavor though)
1 clove of garlic, pulverized (I just use a garlic press, but apparently people ie Grill Boy, have never heard of such things, hence clarification)
1-2 Tablespoons of Soy Sauce
2 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
1 teaspoon onion powder
A few shakes of Tabasco sauce (More or less depending on the level of fire you want to experience in your mouth)
Salt
Pepper

Just mix it all together and let the chicken marinate for at least 30 min, the longer the better.

In all honesty I did not really measure any of these things, and I encourage you to be one with the free spirit and just throw things in a bowl, look how pretty it turns out

Garlic Truffle Parmesan Basil Oven Fries

2 Potatoes, washed Diced
2 Teaspoons Truffle Oil (Grill Boys parents gave me a set of fun dips, oils, and sauces, complete with Truffle oil, so I threw some in)
Basil Parmesan Garlic Oil (again from the Grill Boy in laws)
More Parmesan
Garlic Powder
Salt
Pepper
I put this all in a ziploc baggie, threw it around for a bit and then put it on a tray. Cook at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes or until cooked.

Sesame Ginger Soy Roasted Veggies

Yes I am making these names up as a I go, can’t you tell.

1/2 Yellow Squash, washed, halfed and then sliced
1/2 Zucchini, washed halfed and then sliced (stay tuned for a later appearance of Zucchini and Squash in Thursday’s Dinner)
1/2 a large sweet onion (cut however you would like)
Sesame Seeds
Soy Sauce
Garlic
Ginger Paste
Onion Powder
Salt
Pepper

I tossed these in some olive oil, soy sauce, ginger paste, garlic, salt, pepper, onion powder and then also baked at 375 degrees for about 30 minutes.

Dinner is prepped and ready, off to go cook it now and I will leave the post dinner pictures, review and snarkiness to Grill Boy, or should I call him Foreman Boy?

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 3:29 am

    Love the trips down memory lane of course. I have the same recollections as I turn the “pecked pages” of Fannie Farmer (by the way, everyone, do not say that name to a Brit) and the Oregon Cookbook as well. I will send the Oregon well pecked recipe for Sour Cream Coffee Cake that I make for my students still. I am sure Baker Girl will want to include that one at some point.

Leave a Reply

