Skip to content

At last my Trick or Treater Destiny Is Fulfilled

November 1, 2010

So I can imagine the suspense is killing you, but low and behold we did have trick or treaters last night!

We carved our pumpkins on Thursday Night and thank goodness last night was Halloween because those babies were starting smell!

Grill Boy was kind enough to de-gut the pumpkins

While I picked out the seeds

I absolutely loovvvvvee pumpkin seeds, actually I pretty much love everything that involves pumpkin, ravioli, beer, seeds, pie, whoopie pies, beer. The tastiness is endless.

This year I tried some suggestions from the checkout lady at Russos and made a Cinnamon Sugar batch and a Garlic batch, as well as the traditional salted ones. The Garlic ones were awesome, Cinnamon Sugar, not so much. Next time I would suggest just Cinnamon, no sugar (I used premade McCormick’s Cinnamon Sugar). The sugar just dissolved in the water left on the seeds from washing them, sad face.

While I prepped the seeds, Grill Boy got to carving. His task: Jack Sparrow Pumpkin, His tool: Pumpkin Masters Power Poker and Saw graciously purchases at Stop’n’Shop by Baker Girl.

After only about an hour, Voila, we were ready for trickage. I have to say I had my doubts that Grill Boy could complete his template, but with some extra tools (vegetable peeler, bottle cap) he made a true masterpiece, I bow before him as pumpkin carving god.

The candy selection proved to be the most difficult task in preparing for the trick or treaters. I wanted candy I would actually eat in the event that no little munchkins came ringing. On my third attempt, with Grill Boy’s guidance, we went for Almond Joy and Butterfinger. Speaking of Almond Joy, did you know there is a song about Almond Joy and Mounds! Grill Boy was singing it to me the other day, actually I think he was singing it in the shower, while I happened to be in the bathroom, but nonetheless, feast your ears on this musical gem:

On our way home from getting candy, I got really excited to see that other houses on our street had decorations and pumpkins out, so I made a little door dec and we set our pumpkins out!

The Candy!

The Door!

Up Close of the Pumpykins!

And at around 7:30, as I bit into a meatball (dinner post coming soon!), THE DOORBELL RANG! Dressed in my Matt Ryan Jersey w/ Eyeliner smudge marks I ran to the door, hoping to find cute little children dressed like Buzz Lightyear or Ducks, but major fail, at the door were 4 College age kids, out for a last gasp at childhood. I can’t blame them, I yearned to be like them in college, and who am I to stop some tasty candy grabbing. But major sad face, especially since the first one to say trick or treat was dressed as a slut for Halloween, she did come with a Sumo Wrestler friend, and they were very nice.

Just as I sat back down, ready to let the tears of disappointment start flowing, the doorbell rang again! AND THERE WERE CHILDREN! Like 8 of them. A little lady bug baby, a ninja, a little lion who got stuck in our bushes and dropped all his candy (don’t worry he recovered candy and took like 5 pieces aka half my supply from the bowl). Best costume though: Pooh Bear Iron Man!

Just two door bell rings, but two glorious rings, at last my destiny is fulfilled, and there is only room for improvement! 365 days until more cute children!

While setting the pumpkins up and waiting for the doorbell to ring, we also made some Spaghetti and Meatballs for dinner. A nice hearty Sunday meal, and always nice to made on a Sunday when you had a little more time to prep.

Turkey Meatballs (half batch)

1/2 lb ground turkey
1/2 cup bread crumbs
1/2 Onion, diced
1/2 cup fresh parsley, diced
1/4 cup Parmesan
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 egg
3 cloves garlic (diced, crushed, however you do it, I use a garlic press)
Salt and Pepper

Mash it all together (aka get your kitchen slave Grill Boy to mix it for you)

Make the balls, place on a greased or parchment paper lined baking pan and pop in the oven at 350 degrees for about 30-45, until lightly browned (the bottoms usually brown up nicely and tell you they are done)

We had some salad on the side and some garlic bread as well

And we forgot to take a picture, so stay tuned, Grill Boy or I will have it for lunch tomorrow and we’ll snap a picture.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

