Skip to content

Chicken Tortilla Soup

November 1, 2010

Like we do most weeks, we prepped soup on Sunday for a Monday Crock pot dinner, we have been trying lots of different soups and this week I found a nice recipe for Chicken Tortilla Soup on AllRecipes. I love Allrecipes, they are always the first hit on google, they let you have an online recipe book, they always have pictures, and lots of reviews with helpful hints.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

1 onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 teaspoons chili powder
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 (28 ounce) can crushed tomatoes
1 (10.5 ounce) can condensed chicken broth
1 1/4 cups water
1 cup frozen corn
1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chile peppers
1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
2 boneless chicken breast halves

1. Mix everything together.

2. Store in fridge overnight, not necessary, but we think this helped keep the chicken tender since it marinated for over 10 hours.

3. Plug in your Crock pot and head off to work, or in my case today, I was working from home, so I got to see and smell the soup develop all day! I also slowly removed all the cilantro I had added, I hate cilantro but recognize how much others love it, so I suffer.

We topped the soup with sour cream, a mexican cheese blend and some broken up tortilla chips.

We also made some Guac for an appetizer, Easy Peezy Guacameezy with some leftover tomatoes added.

All in all it was pretty tasty. I think it may have cooked for a little too long just because the spice had gone out, but very flavorful and very tasty meal for a cozy Monday night in front of Jeopardy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Corey - The Runner's Cookie permalink
    November 2, 2010 3:51 pm

    Oh soup sounds so delicious now that it’s getting really cold! And I’m behind on reading, but your pumpkins looked fabulous!! The BC one is awesome – I wish I had that artistic skill 🙂

Leave a Reply

