Skip to content

Lemon Meringue Pie with a side of Snowman

December 29, 2010

The snow has been coming down for over 24 hours and it’s not letting up! I love it. I also love that I am several days away still from needing to get on an airplane so hopefully that whole east coast blizzard thang will be cleared up by Sunday.

Today we ventured off to try and get rent some snow shoes, but turns out everyone else in the resort (Sunriver, Oregon) had the same idea so we ended up renting some skis instead for tomorrow. So Grill Boy and I came home and frolicked in the snow like 5 year olds. I never realized how difficult making a snow man is, I am thorougly exhausted…perhaps time to make a terribly cliche New Years resolution about my triumphant return to the gym, but for now I will just bask in the exhaustion from making a snow man. He is a little on the small side, since we got tired, but still beautiful isn’t he?

Unfortunately we were lacking the requisite carrot and coals, but oreos and old fruit are a nice substitute.

After playing in the snow for awhile, we came in to do some baking. There was an extra pie crust leftover from Christmas dinner, so I decided to try making a Lemon Meringue Pie. I will admit I have always been a bit frightened of Meringue, even spelling it is a challenge but this was an easy recipe to follow out of my new Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook!

Lemon Meringue Pie

Filling
3 Egg Yolks
1 1/2 cups sugar
3 tablespoons corn starch
3 tablespoons flour
1 1/2 cups water
2 tablespoons butter
1-2 teaspoons lemon zest
1/3 cup lemon juice (1 lemon will give you the necessary juice and zest)
Meringue
3 Egg Whites
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
6 tablespoons sugar

1. Start off by separating the eggs, the yolks for the filling and the whites for the top.

2. Next mix the sugar, flour and cornstarch in a medium sized sauce pan.

3. Slowly add the water, and heat on the stove on medium heat until the mixture is thick and bubbly, reduce the heat and cook for 2 minutes.

4. Meanwhile zest and juice the lemon

5. After the mixture has heated for two minutes, add about a cup of it to the yolks and mix together.

6. Add the yolk mixture back to the pot, mix it together and bring to a gentle boil. Once boiling reduce the heat, cook and stir for two more minutes.

7. Remove from heat and gently stir in the zest and the butter. Then stir in the lemon juice. Cover the pot and set aside while you prepare the meringue.

The Meringue

1. In a bowl, using an electric mixer (I miss my kitchen aid at home!), mix the egg whites, cream of tartar and vanilla extract on medium speed for about a minute until soft peaks appear (turn the mixer off and pull it out of the mixture to find the peaks)

2. Continue mixing, adding the sugar a tablespoon at a time for about 4 minutes until the mixture forms stiff glossy peaks. Also make sure the sugar has dissolved, you can rub a little between your fingers to test. Look at those peaks!

Pie Construction

1. Prepare the pie shell/crust. I just used a leftover Pillsbury one. Press into the pie pan and cut off any excess dough. Check out that super long dough string!

2. Add the pie filling.

3.  And then immediately spoon the meringue over the filling, making sure to carefully seal the meringue to the edge of the crust, to prevent shrinkage. I added some peaks as well, they bake up beautifully.

4. Bake for 15 minutes at 350 degrees until lightly browned on top.

5. Allow to cool on a wire rack for 1 hour and then chill in the fridge for about 3 to 6 hours before serving!
Delicious! And not too hard for my first meringue experience.

But alas as I mention in the next post, the altitude got the best of me, or maybe I chilled it too much, the meringue shrank, and exposed the lemon custardy part, which then started get kind of runny an liquidy. For the future definitely smush the meringue down and even though I thought I had sealed off the lemon part, I think I’ll be extra forceful next time, and maybe make a meringue with four eggs instead of three to ensure the covering of the lemon part.

It may not look as pretty as when it first came out of the oven….

But it was still DELICIOUS, I think the fresh lemon juice and zest makes the difference, plus I can only imagine how much better the meringue will be when made in the kitchen aid mixer! No holding the handheld mixer made in 1970 that my parents have for 10 minutes!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    December 30, 2010 5:35 pm

    I can’t believe I missed this! Lemon meringue is my favorite!! Make it again next year?! Or Saturday!

Leave a Reply

