Skip to content

Chicken Curry in a Hurry

January 9, 2011

I got this recipe from this really fun Real Simple tool, Dinner in 15, where you basically choose the main ingredient you want for dinner, chicken, pasta, beef, etc. (cheese was an option! Which I totally support). Then you choose a cooking preference, 1 pot, five ingredients or less, surprise me, and poof a whole host of cooking ideas. Definitely will be heading back there for more dinner ideas.

I went with the Chicken Curry in a Hurry, but made some modifications, so here it is:

Chicken Curry in Not So Much of a Hurry

1 lb chicken
1 sweet onion
1 large carrot (not in the original)
1 cup frozen peas (not in the original)
1/2 cup raisins (not in the original)
1/3 cup curry spice
1 small container fat free plain greek yogurt
1 cup coconut milk (not in the original)
1/3 cup coconut flakes
Rice for serving (whatever portion you desire, this recipe makes about 4 or 5 servings)

1. Cut up the veggies. I sliced the onions by hand and then used my awesome new slicer/dicer KitchenAid attachment that I got for Christmas to slice up the carrots.

So large and in charge…Only difficulty was keeping it on the machine, probably should have read the instructions, but eventually I turned enough knobs and flipped enough switches to get it to stay put.

Look at those carrots go!

First I used the shredder, which is the carrot result on the left, and while not exactly the consistency I was going for with this dish, I think it will soon become my favorite one, great especially I think for shredding cheese, adios pre-shredded cheese at a $3 mark up, hello homemade shredder! Then the carrots on the right were from the slicer, and actually turned out great for this curry dish, and definitely would be great for slicing all kinds of veggies, a motorized mandolin if you will, sans threat of loosing fingers.

2. Slice up the chicken into thin strips.

3. Add all the veggies, peas too,  to a pan with a little bit of olive oil and cook until the onions begin to get clear and the chicken is cooked through.

4. Add the curry spice, although it seems like a lot with the coconut milk and greek yogurt coming, the spice really was not much, in fact it ended up a little on the dull side. I might in the future use the curry spice for the flavor and then add some red pepper for a little zing.

5. Stir in the coconut milk. The can I got clearly had been sitting on the shelf for awhile because it was all gross and separated like natural peanut butter, not exactly what you picture when you think of punching a hole in a coconut and sipping a refreshing drink through a hot pink straw.

But some stirring returned it to a more milky consistency

6. Add the greek yogurt. This is a nice lighter way to add some creaminess to curry, normally I would use sour cream, but the yogurt was a great substitute.

7. Add the raisins.

8. And some coconut flakes. I tried toasting these first actually, in the toaster oven, but after 10 minutes nothing happened. Of course this is when I realized the toaster oven was not plugged in, so to make up for lost time I cranked up the heat, I think to broil. And then of course the toaster oven started smoking from burned coconut, which is still sitting on our back porch in time out, so hence the plain coconut, but if you do add the toasted I would recommend sprinkling them on afterwards.

9. Continue simmering on low for about 5 minutes, just to allow it to thicken up and then serve on a bed of whatever type of rice you would like. Garnish with some sliced almonds, and that toasted coconut, oh wait we didn’t have that….sad face.

All in all it was a great recipe, but again I think it was missing a little bit of the heat you normally have with curry, so next time I definitely will be experimenting with some other spices in addition to just the curry, and maybe a little less of the coconut milk and yogurt, since they also will kill the spice, but then you are left with an open can of coconut milk, and that’s no fun.

Leave a Reply

