Skip to content

Superbowl Cupcakes

February 6, 2011

As I am a fan of neither team playing in this year’s superbowl, I decided instead to bake! I wavered between a football cake, a football field cake and football cupcakes, but went for the sharing and crowd friendly cupcake choice.

For the cupcakes I made the same recipe as I did for the After Eight Cupcakes and they proved even more delicious than I remember. The half batch recipe yields 18 cupcakes, and luckily this time I had enough cupcake papers.

For the frosting I wanted something chocolatey to replicate the brown leather of a football and since I didn’t have any cream for a Ganache frosting I went for an easy fudge frosting.

Fudge Frosting

from the Fannie Farmer Cookbook

2 oz unsweetened chocolate (2 Bakers Squares)
1 1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup milk
4 tablespoons vanilla
1 tablespoon corn syrup
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla

1. Chop up the chocolate, this speeds up the melting process.

2. Add the chocolate, sugar, milk, butter, corn syrup and salt to a medium sized sauce pan.

3. Bring to a boil while mixing. Once the mixture is boiling, boil for 1 minute and then remove from the heat.

Getting there

Boiling!

4. Allow to cool for another minute and then add the vanilla.

5. Beat with a mixer until the frosting thickens up. This didn’t seem to thicken up very fast and my hand got tired so I switched over to the Kitchenaid mixer to save my arms/wrists, the arms are tired after running 5 miles this morning.

6. Eventually it thickened up and then its ready to go on the cupcakes. I went with the dipping approach for half of them and then the cupcakes that were a little more sunken in the middle I drizzled the frosting on with a spatula.

Allow them to cool for about an hour, the frosting will harden up to a fudge like consistency.You can stop here or keep going to add the laces of the footballs. I ended up experimenting with a couple different white frostings. First I tried a white chocolate frosting, just white chocolate chips and butter, but it looked gross and was yellowy from the butter. Plus when it started to cool the butter separated, so I decided to ditch that frosting.

Then I discovered I had about a half of cup of powdered sugar, so I mixed that with about 2 teaspoons of milk, but of course didn’t feel like measuring the 2nd teaspoon and so the gallon jug of milk got a little heavy and a bit more than 2 teaspoons went in, so I added some granulated sugar just to thicken it up.


It was a little drippy, I should have just made my standard butter cream to ensure it thickened up, but lessons for next time. Using a piping bag and a tip that was sadly way too big I went about putting the laces on my cupcakes.

They ended up a little drippy and messy, so I did some toothpick adjustment, but you get the basic  idea, and the important thing is that they taste delicious!

There was extra fudge frosting and we had some pretzels left in our giant Costco sized barrel, so I decided to make chocolate covered pretzels as well. Just swirl the pretzel rods in the frosting and put on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Allow to dry for a few hours and enjoy!

Now back to Superbowl Party prep. We are hosting a Dipfest….what is dipfest you ask, well stay tuned for another post allllllll about it!

Happy Sunday, hope all the Bostonians are enjoying the tropical low 40s degree weather we are having, such a change from the snowy mess of the last week!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 30, 2011 3:45 pm

    Your fudge frosting looks divine – it would be perfect to kick up the chocolate fudge cake on my own blog 🙂
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

